home is where the heart is

home-is-where-the-heart-is

These days I have been feeling homesick. It’s been just over 5 months since I was last in (my beloved) Indonesia. I have not seen my mum, dad and brothers for 5 whole months! It may not seem like a very long time, but before coming to Hong Kong to study, the five of us have always lived under the same roof and I guess I’m used to the comfort of living with my parents… used to my mum’s home cooked meals and my dad’s company and my brothers’ silly antics.

Sure the occasional Skype sessions are always fun and have me laughing my head off; but there’s nothing like seeing them in person and spending quality time with them, even if it’s only window-shopping at the nearby mall or staying in and watching TV.

Last Sunday (17th June) was father’s day and it killed me to know that I couldn’t spend the day with my dad, celebrating him and all that he’s done and sacrificed for us all. The e-card that I sent him obviously can’t ever be good enough. Somehow, there are no words to say, nothing I can do, compared to all that he has given up for us. So dad, if you’re reading this, I know that I don’t say it often enough but I love you and always will. I owe you my life! (Same goes for you mum!)

So, back to the homesickness… I also miss all the delicious delicacies that you can never get in Hong Kong (too many to list!) my cravings for Indonesian cuisines increase proportionally with the length of time I am away from home. And even though I have not been living in Indonesia for the past 10 years or so, it will always hold a special place in my heart. Because home is not where your house is, it is not measured by irrelevant material possessions.

For me, home is the place you are most attached to. The place with all your best memories and all your beloved friends and relatives. For this reason, home, for me is split between two places, more than 7000 miles apart: Jakarta and Manchester. These are the two places I will hold most dearly in my heart. One provided me with wonderful childhood memories and keeps my taste buds buzzing; the other gave me the opportunity to earn my education and the most amazing lifelong friends.

It’s too early to tell, having only lived here for 2 years, but who knows? Maybe someday Hong Kong will also earn a special place in my heart and become a place that I can call ‘home’.

home-is-where-the-heart-is2

 

home is where the heart is

Leave a comment

