Taylor Swift: loving her is Red

So, Taylor Swift’s new album, Red, came out on Monday 22nd October. This is one of those rare moments I desperately wish I was in the U.S. attending her many public events during the so-called Taylor Swift week. If you don’t know already, I’m a huge fan of hers and list her as one of my many inspirations. So it comes as no surprise that I have impatiently waited and followed every tweet and status update for the masterpiece that is Red. Seriously, if you haven’t already, go listen to it! I truly believe she’s a song-writing genius.

One of the things that I really love about Taylor’s songs (apart from the fact that they’re ridiculously catchy!) is the lyrics. They tell such a personal story about a specific someone or situation in her life and yet somehow her fans can still personally relate to it. I’ve lost count the numbers of times I’ve heard someone say “Taylor’s songs are literally the story of my life” and every time I listen to a new song of hers, I think to myself she just keeps getting better, how does she do it?’

Her newest album is no exception. I have to confess, it has been on continuous repeat for the past three days. I cannot be separated from my iPod at the moment, at least not until I get bored of Red, and who knows when that’ll be. I guess the main reason I love her so much is the fact that we’re both just hopeless romantics and when I listen to her songs, I really wish those things would happen to me someday, yes, even the ones where she talks about horrible breakups and cheating boyfriends! I know, what’s wrong with me right? But seriously, she has a point with all these ‘burning red’ relationships. Love is something unpredictable and magical and worth getting your heart broken for if it means you get to find your true love. Besides, you have to admit, your misadventures in love will be, by far, the most interesting tales to tell in the future!

Back to Red, the album has received the highest praise and widespread critical acclaim. And last I heard it’s number one on iTunes in 40 countries. Now that’s no easy feat, I’m sure. This is what Rolling Stone has to say about it: “Taylor Swift is a turbine of artistic ambition and superstar drama, and Red is a 16-song geyser of willful eclecticism.” Billboard also commended: “Red puts Swift the artist front and centre with big, beefy hooks that transcend her country roots for a genre-spanning record that reaches heights unseen.” And my personal favourite:

“Red should be required listening.”

– Entertainment Weekly

Yes. It should.

Taylor Swift: loving her is Red

Leave a comment

