halloween = flu season

The air turned cold this week, resulting in what seems to be a mild flu pandemic. Everyone around me are sneezing, sniffling, coughing and resembling a surgeon with their medical masks on. I, of course, am no exception. Thanks a lot immune system! What a perfect early Birthday present. Seriously though, I’m drinking hot water non-stop and taking any cold pills I can get; anything to get rid of this flu by Saturday.

The cooler weather also means darker and colder mornings which will, no doubt, lead to me trying to convince myself that I have 10-15 minutes more to sleep and snuggle deeper into my warm duvet when in fact I am already running late for class. On the upside, it also means I can take out my scarves and jackets from the back of the closet and dust off my boots. And, of course, it’s that much closer to my favourite holiday: Christmas. That thought alone is enough to put a smile on my face as I walked through the dry, bitter wind blowing mercilessly.

But I’m not packing away my shorts and tank tops just yet because Hong Kong tends to have one of the most unpredictable weather in the world; it can be 20°C today and 30°C the next. HKO (Hong Kong Observatory) does predict that it’ll stay cool for the next few days though. So those of you going trick-or-treating or planning on dressing up for a Halloween night out in LKF (Lan Kwai Fong), stay warm! Maybe opt for a mummy or a witch instead of a sexy nurse or cop. Just sayin’.

 

halloween = flu season

Leave a comment

