even the date is extra special this year

even-the-date-is-extra-romantic-this-year

Do you have a date for Valentine’s Day?

Yeah, 14/02/14.

That bad joke has been going around the world wide web recently. But you have to admit if that’s not the most romantic Valentine’s Day date ever then I don’t know what is. It’s so symmetrical. Symmetrical is sexy. Yes, I’m weird, moving on…

We all know it’s mostly a scam right? Commercial scams that those giant corporations are fully taking advantage of; yet we get sucked into their world of roses are red, violets are blue, if he doesn’t buy you chocolates, he doesn’t love you. Now substitute the word chocolates with flowers or something from Tiffany’s, the more expensive the better.

But let’s not undermine the power of this day, this day has given sudden courage and spurs of bravery to many men around the world to ask out that girl he’s had a crush on in forever, to release his hidden, inner Romeo, to get down on one knee and pop that question, to walk down the aisle and say “I do” or better yet, to make babies. I’m pretty sure we all have at least one friend whose anniversary is on the 14th of February. Well, as a November baby myself, I shouldn’t be complaining about today; I was probably conceived under the influence of St. Valentine too, but I’d rather not think about THAT! ugh.

I never used to get what the fascination is with Valentine’s Day; I was single for the first 19 Valentines of my life (ok, the first 12 probably doesn’t count but still…) and had no problem with it whatsoever. In fact I never really gave it much thought, the day really seemed to be just another normal day and I was not bothered in the slightest about any of those overly grand gestures that couples do for their significant other.

So why am I feeling like the ‘forever alone’ meme this year? What’s different? I’ll tell you what’s different, I experienced that entire lovey-dovey, my-heart-is-turning-into-mush thing we call a romantic relationship. And it was good and fun and totally changes how you view the whole Valentine’s Day extravaganza. Plus nobody had Facebook/Twitter/Instagram etc. as a means to unleash their ‘love actually’ moments on the rest of the world ten years ago, which made it that much easier to ignore.

We never really did go overboard on Valentine’s Day, he never surprised me with huge bouquet of flowers or any fancy dinner reservations but it was a nice and warm feeling to have someone be with you on couple day. So naturally after that relationship ended, I felt that something was missing. Now it doesn’t necessarily mean that I want to get back with my ex. I’ve realised that it’s not really the person that we miss so much as the feeling of being loved and being wanted, the feeling that you have that one person you can count on to help you no matter what crazy, embarrassing situation you get yourself into.

Well, I’ve decided that I will not be that bitter single person. I’m not going to get angry and throw an “I hate Valentine’s Day” party. I’m not even going to watch a Nicholas Sparks movie with a tub of ice cream, feeling sorry for myself. I’m just going to enjoy a carefree day running errands, gossiping with mum, speculating a little a lot about whether that guy likes me and maybe do some baking. After all, it’s just another Friday.

So to all my couple friends: go, be romantic, be cheesy, be cliché, know you’re lucky, flaunt it in everyone’s faces (or the social media), be so in love that your behaviour warrant a “get a room!” and most importantly just BE with each other. I know I’d do the same if I can find a love as sweet as yours.

even the date is extra special this year

Leave a comment

