wanderlust

wanderlust

Is wanderlust hereditary? Because if it is, even in the slightest, I surely inherited the travel bug from my dad. He was never one to settle in one place for more than a decade at a time ever since he was old enough to have his own passport, and I seem to be following suit!

What’s more, if there is ever a perfect time in your life to travel, it would be your early twenties right? You’re at that perfect balance between being young enough to make mistakes and go on reckless adventures; and old enough to do so solo and appreciate it. A time to carve your own path of self-enlightenment before you settle down to pursue that career path or start a family.

A few days ago I watched The Giver, a movie about a post-apocalyptic world; one with no pain, no suffering, no jealousy or anger but also no love, no emotions. No colour. In that black and white existence, one person is tasked with keeping all the memories of the past. Imagine the whole world, seen through the eyes of billions, inside the mind of a single person; you can’t really blame the old giver for being a little on edge.

So the young keeper of memories, Jonas, receives these memories a little bit at a time so as not to be overwhelmed. He sees snow, hears music, encounters dancing, and feels exhilaration and love all for the very first time in his life. He’s ecstatic of course, and a little apprehensive; it’s like thinking your life is a perfect little bubble and suddenly realising that everything you’ve ever known doesn’t even aggregate to 1% of what’s conceivable out there. This is exactly how I feel about travelling. Each moment that Jonas touches the giver’s hands to experience something new is the closest depiction I can offer to illustrate the sensations I get whenever I travel; and even though it won’t always be sunshine and rainbows, I will always crave for more.

Last week I took a short trip to Singapore; I spent four days in the Lion City and loved every second of it. This was by no means my first time in the Little Red Dot, but it was my first solo trip post graduating and entering the workforce and it was also the most fun I’ve had in a while. It was tiring of course, but the kind of tiring that satisfies you and gives you the strength to wake up and do it all again the next day.

To add to my jet setting infatuation, I happen to think that airports are some of the most magical places in the world. They are home to some of the most sincere goodbyes and heartfelt hellos; each one is unique yet gives me the same buzz that starts in my stomach and spreads to the tips of my fingers and toes. All twenty of them.

wanderlust

Leave a comment

