Sherlock

Summer holiday is upon us, which means two months of trying to find something fun to kill the time. So after getting all caught up on the latest season of Game of Thrones (and the shock and horror of it all, no spoilers there!), I asked a friend to recommend a show worth watching. One word: Sherlock.

Now, he wasn’t the first of my friends to recommend this show to me; I even had the first season all ready to watch for the past couple of years, I just haven’t got round to giving it a try yet. So last week I settled down for a Sherlock marathon; and I have to say, it’s one of the most brilliant shows I’ve seen to date – and I’ve seen many. Every episode leaves you craving for more and every cliffhanger really has you screaming and gasping for the detective’s safety.

For those of you unfamiliar with Sherlock Holmes, he is a fictional character from the works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Sherlock Holmes is an exceptionally observant private consulting detective and complete genius. In the original stories, Sherlock goes around Victorian England solving crimes that baffle the local police force: odd happenings, mysterious disappearances, locked room murders, serial killers, criminal masterminds, you get the idea. He uses little things that ordinary people would miss or ignore and his remarkable logical reasoning to make deductions about a certain situation or person. Sherlock resides at 221B Baker Street, London and apart from his one companion and flat mate, Dr. John H Watson, he pretty much keeps to himself.

Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes in BBC Sherlock "The Great Game"

BBC’s rendition of the character, played by Benedict Cumberbatch, envisions what Sherlock would be like in modern, bustling London. Thrown into a world of black cabs, snobby cops and the digital age, he’s portrayed as an arrogant know-it-all and an insensitive show-off. As insufferable as his character is meant to be though, you can’t help but fall in love with him, his quirkiness and his sexy mind (and voice). John Watson, played by Martin Freeman, is also every bit as endearing with his absolute loyalty and trust in the detective.

What this show does so well is how thoroughly captivating and real the characters feel, props to the amazing actors, and how the pace of the story is just right. Not too fast and not too slow; although I wouldn’t mind Sherlock speaking a little slower now and then, I’d have missed a lot of his run-on sentences during his many deductions if it weren’t for the subtitles, but I guess that’s Sherlock for you and it’s part of what makes him fun to watch. Plus, it’s sprinkled with some of the British banter I hadn’t realised I’ve missed.

If you have thirteen and a half hours to spare, each episode being ninety minutes long and there currently being three seasons with three episodes to a season, I highly recommend Sherlock. I have to warn you though, it’s a bit on the heavy side; it’s not really suitable if you’re looking for light, mindless TV. This show will make you think and multitask on screen; it needs all your focus or you’ll miss out on important clues – I’ve had to hit the pause and rewind buttons more than once myself! But if you can handle all of that and the slightly lengthy duration of each episode, you’re in for a real treat; and before you know it you’ll be saying “I am well and truly SHERLOCKED.”


Bonus: who doesn’t want to see Bilbo Baggins running around London solving crimes with a tall, eccentric, high-functioning sociopath?

Extra Bonus: I first saw Benedict Cumberbatch as Alan Turing in The Imitation Game and I’ve never really thought of him as sexy. But (spoiler alert) after watching The Empty Hearse I kinda want someone to make a GIF of the moment when he bungee jumped from the roof of St Bart’s hospital, crashed through the window, turned up the collar on his iconic long coat, ruffled his curly brown hair, and grabbed Molly Hooper for what I think is one of the hottest kisses I’ve ever seen (even if the whole scene was just one of Anderson’s crazy theories), so that I can watch it on loop while imagining myself in Molly’s place. Hashtag swoon.

Sherlock

Leave a comment

