[comic] – expectation vs reality

When I was seventeen, I used to think that life would just fall into place as simply as 2x + 6 = 4x – 2 (remember when algebra was the only ‘problem’ in your life?) Anyone else thought so too, or was I the only naïve 17 year-old back then?

Now, I’m not even sure where I’ll be in seven years and I’m surprisingly ok with that… let’s check back when I’m thirty-one #31soundskindascarythough! Leave me your thoughts and comments below, and don’t forget to give this comic a like if you’re still as clueless as me, regardless of how old you are.

[comic] – expectation vs reality

14 thoughts on “[comic] – expectation vs reality

  1. What a light hearted blog – love the illustrations too!

    Yes, as a teen I had my life planned out. I assumed everything would fall into place by the age of 25 – it seemed soooo far away!

    Now, the years are ticking by and I am making new discoveries about myself every day.

    Life is not what I had expected as a 15 year old but I generally feel blessed. That 15 year old had no idea how tired and stretched she would feel juggling motherhood, marriage, employment and church life. It is all good!

    Like

  2. heraldmarty says:

    How timely. I’ve been sitting here trying to figure what to say in a letter to my nephew on the mainland who’s graduating from high school this week. He’s moving across country right after graduation to live with the family of a girl he met online. Every time I start to write something it ends up sounding like a lecture and considering I moved away from home and into a “singles” complex a week after I graduated I am far from a perfect example. I say whatever you do, take this time to enjoy life and look at everything as an adventure!

    Like

    1. high school seems like a lifetime ago, I think when we’re young our perspective of time is very different. A year can seem like forever but yes, I agree with you that life should just be enjoyed without too much overthinking, so I’m just gonna go with the flow!

      Like

  3. I’m retired and in my 60’s and I’m still not so sure about what I want to be when I “grow up.” Seem to have made it through okay despite the lack of a grand plan. Nice comics!

    Like

  4. I’m not sure we ever get to a state (like Ken I am in my 60s) where we have everything figured out. Most of us change direction several times, because of our own choosing and because of the twists (and opportunities) life springs upon us. I think it is good that we have to keep evaluating where we want to go next. We can’t really know what life will feel like in the future and winding up exactly where we thought we’d be may not be the happy place we thought.

    Like

  5. emfoodcoach says:

    I love your drawings! And I’m not at all where I thought I would be. Except I do live in Los Angeles (grew up on the east coast). And given that I wanted to be an actress, I guess I could have seen that coming. I said I would NEVER get married and I am. And I’m a food and diet coach which would have never interested me in high school. And I’m still naive enough sometimes to think I’ll know where I’m going to be in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The lyrics hold so much meaning, it perfectly describes what high school and being seventeen is. When you’re seventeen you’d never know that life would be so much better than your ‘grand plan’ or daydreams and despite the fact that my ‘plan’ is nowhere near achieved, I really wouldn’t have it any other way. Thanks for sharing the song with me!

      Like

Leave a comment

