[comic] – language savvy

Oh the struggles of being an introvert! Whenever I’m in a crowd setting I always think through in my head what I’m going to say or how (and when) I should contribute to the conversation. It might sound well and fine in my head, but as soon as I open my mouth, more often than not, it never comes out the way I want it to. This is why I prefer to just listen, unless it’s just me and one other person of course, in which case I’m forced to attempt to form coherent sentences.

Any introverts feel the same way? Give this comic a like and leave a comment below if you can relate so I know we’re kindred spirit (who prefer to communicate via IM and the internet).

[comic] – language savvy

13 thoughts on “[comic] – language savvy

  1. I am an introvert but in recent years have challenged myself to step out of my comfort zone. I am part of a praise and worship team at church, I run a women’s group plus a few other things.

    I crave downtime in the evenings.

    Like

  2. heraldmarty says:

    I’ve had to suffer through the Myers-Briggs personality test 3 times through various employers and each time I was labeled an ‘extreme’ Introvert. On the other hand, I worked in sales, often gave presentations to large groups and became a trainer. That’s a lot of talking for any Introvert. My point for sharing is that you can learn to work with your preferences, you just need to make sure and give yourself plenty of time to recharge. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, I agree. I’ve been trying to push myself out of my comfort zone by taking up challenges that require me to talk in front of a lot of people. It hasn’t been easy but you’re right that it’s all about finding the right preference and giving myself enough time to recharge. Thanks for your comment =)

      Like

  3. Sushmita Thakare Jain says:

    Hello Rosary,
    Loved your comic!
    Yes, introverts feel the same way I have worked with few. In fact like I had told you before my next week post is about Personal Branding for Introverts, hope you will like it and implement it 🙂

    Like

      1. Sushmita Thakare Jain says:

        Hello Rosary, due to some changes the post I mentioned about will be publishing on 24Jan Instead of 17th 😐

        Like

  4. You can count me as a kindred spirit, Rosary. I don’t like crowds at all; in fact, I am wary of social occasions involving more than 4-5 people (myself included).

    There’s a lot to be said for your preference “to just listen”:
    (1) You’ll learn more.
    (2) Many people will be flattered that you let them take the lead in a conversation.
    (3) It takes less energy. 😉

    Like

  5. Erica says:

    As an introvert, I was always comfortable as an actress on the stage. But it was always harder being myself. Now that I’m married, I prefer social gatherings with my husband. But I often go to networking events alone and that is much more scary.

    Like

Leave a comment

