why I don’t do resolutions

3… 2… 1… bye 2016! #siblingsquad

2016 was just so-so for me, it wasn’t a particularly good year but it wasn’t a bad year either; I can’t complain though because I still got to spend Christmas and ring in the New Year with my loved ones. Now that we’ve entered 2017, as is the worldwide tradition, most people will have new (or old) resolutions for the New Year. This year I’m not going to make resolutions, I actually haven’t made any for a long while now.

“Why not?” you ask?

Well, part of it is because I can never stick to my resolutions #whoops. But the other part is because I feel that making New Year’s resolutions puts pressure on yourself to achieve certain goals in that year. This can lead to you focusing so much on those things that you may miss out on other things. It’s almost like we’re unconsciously limiting our choices. Also, most people make resolutions because they want a change in their lifestyles; but your life is not going to magically change with the calendar. Truth is, if you want your life to change you need to make small, ongoing resolutions throughout the year instead of a couple of big ones just at the beginning of the year.

I’m not saying New Year’s resolutions are useless, on the contrary I think it’s important to be able to see the big picture and have the end goal in your mind. I just think that too many people use the start of a New Year as an excuse to say they want to change this habit or add that routine with a tendency to forget it all by the end of January.

Instead of making New Year’s resolutions, each year I like to challenge myself on how far outside my comfort zone I can go. For example, being an introvert, one of my biggest fears is public speaking; so last year I signed up to be a lector at my Church, whose job is to read the Scripture readings in front of hundreds of people. I even took the CELTA course where I had to stand in front of a class and teach them stuff – twice a week! If you told my end-of-2015 self that I would accomplish all that within the next year, I would never have believed it. That’s not to say that I wasn’t a nervous wreck before my first lector reading and teaching practice, but because I pushed myself, I now realise that I actually CAN do those things (and without any major mishap at that).

There are 12 months = 52 weeks = 365 days = 8,760 hours = 525,600 minutes in one year; that’s a long time! What you want at the beginning of the year might be completely different or irrelevant to what you want in the middle or end of the year, which is why I don’t really like to make New Year’s resolutions. This year, I’m just going to strive for a better me, travel as much as I can, and say “yes” to more things that scare me.

Whatever your resolutions are, and whether or not you’ve made any, I wish you all a happy New Year 2017 – let’s make the most out of those 31,540,000 seconds!

ohana *^_^*

a/n: By the way, did you notice the new theme? I decided to do a blog makeover; new year, new look kinda thing and I’m loving the clean and simple feel of it – monochromatic and minimalist sites are all the rage now right? Or are they ‘so last year’? ha.. ha.. What do you guys think?

why I don’t do resolutions

16 thoughts on “why I don’t do resolutions

  1. Rosary — good points that resolving to make changes in your life is an ongoing quest, not just a New Year’s resolution you abandon quickly. Congratulations on conquering your fear of speaking. You did something concrete to achieve your goal by taking a course and taking on a new role in your church.

    Like

  2. heraldmarty says:

    I don’t believe in any one-size-fits-all approach to life, so whatever works for you is what you should do! I’ve never done the New Year’s resolution thing, but that’s because I have ongoing goals that I build on each year so it’s more of a life path thing for me.

    One thing I do a little differently than some is I choose to view my goals as “experiments”. It may seem like wordplay but here’s why it matters – when you experiment there is no pass or fail, it’s about learning and growing and there’s plenty of room for trial and error. This takes a lot of the pressure off of trying something new, and that’s a big deal for me since I always seem to be doing things before I’m ready. Thanks for the inspiration and wish you all the best this year!

    Like

    1. I totally agree! I think we should all find what works for us and stick with that because everyone is different and will have different approaches. I like the way you view your goals as experiment, it certainly takes some pressure off when you’re not so worried about failing. Thanks for your comment =)

      Like

  3. I think one of the problems with New Year’s resolutions and their lack of success is the pressure on this one day to be a significant turning point in life. Also, people try to do too much and don’t plan it out. I don’t do resolutions either. I think we can focus on making changes throughout the year without trying to do it all in one fell swoop. And you are right – the year is long. Your priorities may change along the way.

    Like

  4. Sushmita Thakare Jain says:

    Loved the theme Rosary and the dash of personalization i.e. your pictures. Resolutions are hard to keep hence I convert my long term goals and plan them in my bullet journals to help me work things out 🙂

    Like

  5. I myself don’t make New Year’s resolutions, and I agree that it is groundless to single out January 1 for this purpose, but I don’t want to completely pooh-pooh the idea, either. If the start of the calendar year spurs you to make a positive change in your life – to take up a new hobby, to get out of debt, to stop smoking, whatever – then better that than not taking action at all, and if you can make it stick, then more power to you.

    Like

    1. Yes, that’s how I feel too. I don’t want to discourage people from making New Year’s resolutions, I guess it differs from person to person. As I said, I’m not one to be able to stick to my resolutions it seems so I don’t make them. But that’s just for me, I can’t speak for others obviously. We should just stick to what works for us. Thanks for giving my blog a read =)

      Like

  6. I never make New Years Resolutions. Lately, as a family we have gone through such a lot of pain that we have decided to enjoy life by taking one day at a time. No long term plans and no regrets either if we don’t achieve what we planned. Just thankful to be with the people I love.

    Like

    1. As long as we’re happy with our decisions and what we’re doing, I think that’s more important than making any kind of big promises or resolutions that often get neglected. Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Like

  7. Hi Rosary,

    So interesting to hear what you think about resolutions (as you know my last post was also about it).
    Honestly, in my opinion, it does not matter how we call it – resolutions, self improvement plan, new challenge, priority area or anything else – if you think about becoming better and finding ways to do it, it is already a great start!

    Good luck this year with realizing your ambitions

    Like

  8. I do not make resolutions for one simple reason, why wait?
    Every day of life should be an improvement on the day before. We should constantly work to improve ourselves, and this should be done every day of the year, not the first.

    Like

Leave a comment

