[comic] – you look Chinese

In honour of Chinese New Year tomorrow, here’s a comic concerning my Chinese language skill (or lack thereof). Being Chinese and speaking Chinese are two completely different things. Obviously.

This used to happen a LOT when I was living in Hong Kong; all my university friends would ask me why I couldn’t speak Chinese when I’m Chinese. Well, the fact is I’m a 3rd generation Indonesian Chinese. My great grandma was born in China and immigrated to Indonesia when she was 17. My grandma, my mum and I were all born in Indonesia; hence why the language is lost on me. My grandma can still understand a little bit of a certain Chinese dialect, but neither of my parents can. As a kid they put me and my brothers through Chinese school every Sunday, which were kinda useless. Living in Hong Kong for three years didn’t do much either ha.. ha.. It also didn’t help that they speak Cantonese in Hong Kong while what I’d been learning was very basic Mandarin.

This Lunar New Year marks the year of the Rooster, so if you’re born in 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969, etc. (the cycle repeats every 12 years – do the math) then this year is your year!

新年快乐 (xīn nián kuài lè), 恭禧发财 (gōng xǐ fā cái), may this Lunar New Year bring you and your loved ones health, wealth, luck, love, and prosperity *^.^*

[comic] – you look Chinese

6 thoughts on “[comic] – you look Chinese

  1. Had it been me, I would have said, “I am of Chinese ancestry, but I am not Chinese in the sense that I don’t speak a Chinese language and don’t live in China” (speaking as someone who is of Dutch ancestry but is not Dutch because I don’t speak the Dutch language and don’t live in the Netherlands).

    Like

Leave a comment

