[comic] – this went viral?!

PrintWhy do the stupidest things go viral? Plus, I swear they’re getting stupider and more random by the day – I seriously have no words. Every time something like this goes viral the only thing that comes to mind is just “…why?”

I’m usually one of the last ones to find out about a viral thing. I’d see it in my multiple social media feeds, but I tend to ignore them as much as possible until it is LITERALLY everywhere, at which point I’d cave and find out where this phrase or that meme originally came from. Then proceed to facepalm. I know that these things go as fast as they come and get forgotten in mere days or weeks, but I just can’t understand why or how these things went viral in the first place; someone enlighten me maybe?

[comic] – this went viral?!

14 thoughts on “[comic] – this went viral?!

  1. I too rather late in discovering new phrases. Everyone appears to be in the know far sooner than I ever am. I tend to secretly google any words/abbreviations that I hear and do not understand. A few come to mind;

    “My bad”
    “BAE”
    “BFF”

    Like

  2. I was very late to the “cash me outside howbow dah” viral party and didn’t even know why it went viral until I had to ask my friends haha

    Some things that go viral are ridiculous but some are pretty funny. I did like the salt bae meme and its parodies, though.

    Like

  3. heraldmarty says:

    I have no answer for you other than I’ve wondered about things like this myself every time I see a media headline announcing something has gone viral. Inevitably I don’t ‘get it’ so I just stopped looking. 🙂

    Like

    1. yup, sometimes I also just don’t ‘get it’. I guess this is just one of those inexplicable things in life that we’ll never find the answer to haha. Thanks for leaving your thoughts~

      Like

  4. You have indirectly stumbled onto an important truth, Rosary: as culture goes, the shlock comes to you, but if you want something more substantive, you have to seek it out for yourself.

    Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of your life. To the extent that you can, tune out the clamor of social media – just tune it out. Instead, go to YouTube – a wonderful resource if used intelligently – and start listening to great music, e.g., Miles Davis’s Kind of Blue (https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Kind+of+Blue+Miles+Davis). Nothing less than your soul is at stake.

    Like

    1. haha I love this! sometimes though, no matter how much I want to ignore or not get involved in the latest viral thing, I just can’t seem to get away from it. Especially when all my close circle of friends talk about nothing else but the thing and it is ubiquitous in my social media feed.

      Like

  5. Sushmita Thakare Jain says:

    I have no clue about that dear since I’ve wondered about things like this myself. I take it in this way my preferences or likes differ from others!

    Like

Leave a comment

