CNY getaway (part II: Singapore photo trail)

Continuing on from my last post, while I did visit some of the most touristy places during this trip to Singapore, I also made time to check out some of the most Instagram-worthy spots. Like, literally, I Googled “Top ten most Insta-worthy places in Singapore” and added the ones I liked best to my itinerary ha.. ha..

  • MCI (Ministry of Communications and Information) Building

This colourful building is also known as the Old Hill Street Police Station because it used to house the Hill Street Police Station and Barracks back in the 1930s. Now it’s home to the Ministry of Communications and Information, whose job is to oversee all things digital such as cyber security, infocomm technology, media and design sectors, etc.

I didn’t really go inside the building because one: I wasn’t sure if it was something that was open for the public and a place where any passersby could enter, and two: I went there on a Sunday so it was probably closed anyway.

Nevertheless, I still got to take some cool pictures outside this rainbow building and got some shots that are definitely Insta-worthy. Goal accomplished!

Getting there: I took the MRT and got off at Clarke Quay. You’ll be able to see the building as soon as you exit the station, and then it’s just a short walk across the Coleman Bridge to reach it.

Official website -> https://www.mci.gov.sg/

  • Truss Bridge

This iconic bridge is located at the old Bukit Timah railway, which is now no longer operational. Finding the bridge was not as difficult as I thought it would be, but we did have to mini-hike it up to the railway tracks in order to see the bridge up close.

I had seen pictures of this bridge online and I couldn’t believe how aesthetic it looked, especially when taken from a low angle head on. I’d planned to get there early so that it wouldn’t be too crowded, but even at 10:00 am on a Monday, there were photographers who beat us to it.

In all honesty, it wasn’t too bad, there was just one group of youngsters taking photos on the other end of the bridge and they didn’t really get in our way much. It did get more crowded later on though as I found out that the trail is a popular one for joggers, dog walkers and cyclists.

the flip-flops were a bad idea

I think we stayed there for around an hour or so and by that time it was getting too hot and crowded to be under the sun any longer, not to mention a certain giant bee wouldn’t stop chasing us, so we decided to walk back down make our escape. But who knew an abandoned railway could be so photogenic?

Getting there: I took the MRT and got off at King Albert Park. You’ll be able to see the black Truss Bridge after a 5-10 minute walk from the station, and then we walked through this old, rusty gate right under the bridge that honestly looked like it was off limits to the public but we saw no other way of getting to the railway tracks above and there was nobody around (although there was an empty guard’s post), so we decided to just go for it and mini-hiked the rest of the way up. I have no idea how the other people got up there, they also seemed to be coming from the opposite direction of the bridge, so maybe there was an easier (and more legit) way to get there that we weren’t aware of… #whoops.

  • Library@Orchard

This is another place I’ve wanted to visit ever since some of my friends posted photos of it on Instagram. The Library@Orchard is located inside the Orchard Gateway mall, on the 3rd and 4th floor. It’s essentially just a normal public library, but it has these curvy bookshelves that look super cool from the second storey.

As libraries go, this is one of the most modern ones that I’ve ever been to, and totally satisfies my search for #whiteaddict spaces. They also have this pretty magazine wall near the entrance of the library.

Being the avid reader that I am, I felt kinda bad going into the library for the sole purpose of taking pictures, but it was already quite late (we’d just finished from the Singapore zoo) and I could tell that I wasn’t the only one! I wanted to stay longer but we were pretty tired after a whole day of walking so we ended up only staying for around half an hour. I’ll definitely have to come back here next time I’m in Singapore.

Getting there: I took the MRT and got off at Somerset. The Orchard Gateway mall is not difficult to find, just follow the signs from the station.

Official website -> http://www.nlb.gov.sg/

I hope you’ve enjoyed going on this short, but visually pleasing, virtual photo trail with me. There were so many other places that I wanted to visit but didn’t have the time to, to which I say “there’s always next time.” Does anyone else also travel with a planned purpose to take Insta-worthy shots? Let me know in the comments below some of your favourite Insta-worthy spots in your own hometown.

p.s. again, much love and many thanks to my brother for being my personal tour guide and photographer!

CNY getaway (part II: Singapore photo trail)

6 thoughts on “CNY getaway (part II: Singapore photo trail)

  1. The MCI building is pretty. Your outfit (stunning by the way) almost matches the red shutters in one of the photographs – was this is a coincidence?

    The Orchard Library is my kind of place. The architecture is amazing. I am used to straight book shelves in brown. This will entice even those who do not care much for books.

    Like

    1. It’s customary to wear red during the first few days of Chinese New Year, hence my outfit; and yes, it was a coincidence that it almost matched the red shutters of the building =D Thank you for your compliment!

      Like

  2. Two points:
    (1) It doesn’t surprise me that an abandoned railway would be photogenic. Some people take photos of abandoned shopping malls: those photos are cool too.
    (2) The Library@Orchard is a pretty futuristic-looking library – very stylish. Complementarily, if you are ever able to visit New Orleans, you should check out the homey Latter Branch of the New Orleans Public Library – homey because it used to be an actual home, more specifically, it’s housed in an early 20th-century mansion.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sushmita Thakare Jain says:

    Amazing Pictures dear 🙂 you look stunning plus love the Library ❤ definitely would love to spend time there 😀

    Like

Leave a comment

