He died for us

Hello April! Did anyone get April fooled last week? I hate April Fools’ Day cos I’m always that one person who believes all the fake news and falls for all the pranks. But I love April; it’s the month of spring and flower buds and cherry blossoms (like seriously, so many of my friends are in Japan right now to see the beautiful Sakura trees and I’m super jealous). It’s also the month of Easter and new beginnings. Yep, this year Easter falls on the third Sunday of April.

There are two big celebrations in the Catholic calendar: Christmas and Easter. As most might know, Easter is a celebration of Jesus’ resurrection and how He saved us all from sin through His crucifixion. Before we celebrate His rising from the dead though, we Catholics go through a period of Lent.

Lent lasts for 40 days, starting with Ash Wednesday, and during these 40 days we ‘give up’ something – it can be smoking, or alcohol, or meat, or anything else that we usually enjoy or indulge in. We do this to commemorate Jesus’ 40 days of fasting with no food or water in the desert. When I was younger, I used to give up sweets and chocolates and fizzy drinks during lent, as I got older I gave up social media and fasted on Fridays. This year I decided to give up shopping. You might have known from one of my old articles that I’m a big time shopaholic, so this is the perfect challenge for me. Can I go six weeks without retail therapy when I usually shop once every two weeks or even once a week?

I’m not gonna lie, it’s been tough, and there were times when I’m at the mall where my resolve wavered. But just as Jesus was tempted by Satan during His fast, I just have to push through it and fight against the urges. There’s still one week of Lent left, but I’m positive I won’t fall off the (no-shopping) wagon. On the upside, it’s done wonders for my purse! These past few weeks have taught me self-control and how that must-have outfit is not a must-have after all. We are instead encouraged to give the money we’d otherwise spend on clothes or other luxury items to those who are less fortunate than us. In any case, Lent is a time for humble self-reflection and confession before we celebrate Jesus’ resurrection and the new beginning He gives us.

Happy Easter to all my readers, may it be full of joy, peace, and blessings! *^_^*

Dying, You destroyed our death
Rising, You restored our lives
Lord Jesus, come in glory.

a flower crown is nothing… He wore a crown of thorns
He died for us

15 thoughts on “He died for us

  1. Happy Easter to you too Rosary. I am a Christian and fast at particular periods during the year. I usually abstain from food between 6am and 6pm and have the occasional fast from social media. Fasting draws you closer to God and is good for the flesh – though it may not feel so during the actual fast.

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

    Like

    1. Yes, during Lent we are supposed to ‘fast’ on Fridays, meaning we are only allowed one full meal for the whole day, but I find it quite difficult sometimes, which is why I try to make it up by giving up on other things.

      Thank you for your comment =)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Easter isn’t something that I celebrate in the religious sense but it is really great to see your firm belief and determination to see something through that is important to you. I hope you have a great Easter and I am positive you won’t fall off the no-shopping wagon as well!! 🙂

    Like

  3. heraldmarty says:

    Lovely photos Rosary! I am not religious but I respect the traditions and rituals so I would like to send you and your family best wishes for the Easter holiday.

    Like

  4. Easter has lost all of its meaning in our modern world. I know for many, it is still represents the resurrection. I personally think, it is Good Friday that is more important. That is the moment in time, when we are set free.

    Like

  5. Is there a Mardi Gras celebration where you live, Rosary? If not, it’s time to organize one! That way you can at least have 12 days of revelry before Lent gets under way. Taking it a bit further, I can see you as the Queen of the Krewe of Bibliophilia riding on a float in a Mardi Gras parade, smiling and waving at crowds along the street…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have heard of Mardi Gras, but was not familiar with it. We don’t have Mardi Gras celebrations here in Indonesia, but having Googled it, the carnival does look like it’d be a lot of fun!

      Like

  6. Sushmita Thakare Jain says:

    Happy Easter to your Rosary, ‘a flower crown is nothing… He wore a crown of thorns’ I might not be aware much about Christianity but yeah I agree with you!
    Also, loved your pictures dear 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

