[comic] – mystery of the Trinity

So, the answer I was trying to get out of them (and failed miserably to) was that Trinity means three in one, as in God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit all rolled into one God. Well, in my defense, the mystery of the Holy Trinity is a difficult concept even for adults to grasp so I really had my work cut out for me that week – I teach the younger class so we’re talking about 4- to 7-year-olds.

Another time, I was telling them the story of Noah’s ark and how he gathered all different kinds of animals in pairs. I’d asked them “what animals do you think were in Noah’s ark?” I got typical answers like “lions! giraffes! elephants!” but then this one kid suddenly shouted “cockroaches!” I mean, he probably wasn’t wrong but in that moment I just couldn’t help but laugh. Incidents like these really remind me just how innocent and simple-minded kids are.

Have you ever had a similar situation with a kid where you ask them a question and got the most purely unexpected answer from them? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to hear your stories!

[comic] – mystery of the Trinity

10 thoughts on “[comic] – mystery of the Trinity

  1. I like your illustrations.

    There is nothing like children being taught the bible.

    I have many scenarios as my two children always throw comments out of nowhere;

    At a birthday party, I asked my three year old son whose birthday it was and replied “mine.” It was in fact his cousin’s.

    I asked my daughter what she would like to do one afternoon and she responded “Set up a YouTube channel like the little American boy”. According to my daughter, she will film herself and her father and I can help maintain it. She obviously would like to be the next Zoella!

    Like

  2. heraldmarty says:

    Lovely. I’m not religious so the story is kind of lost on me, but I appreciate your point and always enjoy your drawings.

    Like

  3. OK, curiosity compels me to ask: In your Noah’s Ark discussion, did you explain why God flooded the earth?

    “And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.”
    – Genesis 6:5, KJV

    If not, what would you say if one of the kids asked about it?

    Like

Leave a comment

